Skip to:

Democratic Candidates in the June 2022 Primary

Below are the races that will be on the ballot in San Diego County in the Primary Election on June 7, 2022, along with the Democrats who have declared that they're running. If you're a candidate who would like to be added to this list, please fill out this form. For a list of races and Democrats who have declared they are running in Special Elections in 2021, please click here. For any other questions or requests, please  email

Key:  endorsed,  qualified, * incumbent Democrat, name in blue links to candidate's website. 

Federal Offices

US Senate 
* Alex Padilla

Congressional Representatives 
District 49: * Mike Levin
District 50: Stephen Houlahan, Joseph Rocha
District 51: * Juan Vargas
District 52: * Scott Peters
District 53: * Sara Jacobs, Barrett Holman Leak

State Offices 

Governor: Gavin Newsom
Lt. Governor: * Eleni Kounalakis
Attorney General: * Rob Bonta
Controller: Malia Cohen, Yvonne You
Treasurer: * Fiona Ma, Fabian Nunez
Secretary of State: * Shirley Weber
Insurance Commissioner: * Ricardo Lara

Board of Equalization
4th District: * Mike Schaefer, Ben Hueso

State Senate
District 36: Mark Ankcorn, Catherine Blakespear
District 38: 
District 40: Steve Padilla

State Assembly
District 71: 
District 75: 
District 76: * Tasha Boerner-Horvath
District 77: * Brian Maienschein, Ricky Marin
District 78: * Chris Ward
District 79: * Akilah Weber
District 80: * Lorena Gonzalez-Fletcher

County Offices

Board of Supervisors
District 4: * Nathan Fletcher
District 5: 

Board of Education

Dave Myers

Educational Districts 

Community College

K-12 School Boards 

San Diego Unified School Board, District B:
Shana Hazan


City Offices

San Diego 
City Council District 2: * Jennifer Campbell, Loxie Gant
City Council District 4: * Monica Montgomery Steppe
City Council District 6: Nicole Crosby, Joel Day, Tommy Hough, Kent Lee
City Council District 8: Antonio Martinez, * Vivian Moreno

Chula Vista
Mayor: Zaneta Encarnacion

Other Districts