Skip to:

Democratic Candidates 2018

June 5, 2018 Primary Election

The June 5, 2018 Primary Election will include the following political offices: Representatives in Congress (49, 50, 51, 52, 53), State Offices (Governor, Lt. Governor, Secretary of State, Controller, Treasurer, Attorney General, Insurance Commissioner, Board of Equalization 4th District, Superintendent of Public Instruction, State Senate (36, 38, 40), State Assembly (71, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, & 80), Superior Court Judges, County Assessor/Recorder/Clerk, County Treasurer/Tax Collector, District Attorney, Sheriff, County Board of Supervisors (4 & 5), Chula Vista Mayor, Attorney and City Council (1 & 2), San Diego City Council (2, 4, 6, & 8), County Board of Education (3 & 5), Grossmont-Cuyamaca Community College District (1, 2, & 5), San Diego Community College District (A, C & E), San Diego Unified School District (B & C).  Red denotes the election can be won in June if over 50%

November 6, 2018 General Election

  • Top-two Run-off Election for races from June Primary with exception of some County races determined in Primary. Includes Federal, State, Educational, Cities of Chula Vista and San Diego
  • General Municipal Election for Carlsbad, Coronado, Del Mar, El Cajon, Encinitas, Escondido, Imperial Beach, La Mesa, Lemon Grove, National City, Oceanside, Poway, San Marcos, Santee, Solana Beach, Vista
  • Board Member Elections for County School Districts and Special Districts (Community Planning, Community Services, Fire Protection, Healthcare, Irrigation, Public Utility, Water).


The California Democratic Party will make endorsements for statewide, federal, and state legislative races in February 2016. The San Diego County Democratic Party Central Committee will make endorsements for San Diego County races by March 2018 for the June Primary Election and by August 2018 for the November General Election. 

Running for Office

If you are a Democratic candidate and would like to be added to this list, please complete the form at For more information, email or call 858-277-3367. 

Federal Offices

Congressional Representatives 
District 49: Douglas Applegate, Mike Levin
District 50: Alexander Balkin, Pierre BeauregardJosh ButnerAmmar Campa-NajjarGloria ChadwickGlenn JensenPatrick Malloy
District 51: Juan Vargas*
District 52: Scott Peters*
District 53: Susan Davis*

State Offices

Governor: John Chiang, Delaine Eastin, Gavin Newsom, Antonio Villaraigosa, Dr. Juan Bribiesca
Lt. Governor: Jeff BleichEd Hernandez, Eleni KounalakisAsif Mahmood, Matthew Rizzie
Attorney General: Xavier Becerra*, Dave Jones
Controller: Betty T. Yee*
Treasurer: Mike Gatto, Fiona Ma
Secretary of State: Alex Padilla*
Insurance Commissioner: Ricardo Lara
Superintendent of Public Instruction: Tony Thurmond

Board of Equalization
4th District: 
State Senate
District 38: 
District 40: 
State Assembly
District 71: 
District 75: 
District 76: Michelle C. Gomez, Liz Warren
District 77: Sunday Gover
District 78: Todd Gloria*
District 79: Shirley Weber*
District 80: Lorena Gonzalez*

County Offices

Assessor/Recorder Clerk: Matt Strabone
Treasurer/Tax Collector:
District Attorney:
Sherriff: Dave Myers

Board of Supervisors
District 4: Omar Passons
District 5:

Judicial Offices

San Diego Superior Court

Educational Districts

Superintendent of Public Instruction: Tony Thurmond, Marshall Tuck
MiraCosta Community College Board
Trustee Area 2: 
San Diego Community College Board
District A: 
District C: 
District E: 
Southwestern Community College Board
Seat 1: 
Cajon Valley Union School Board 
Chula Vista Elementary School Board
Seat 1: 
Seat 3: 
Seat 5: Eduardo Reyes
Del Mar Union School Board 
Encinitas Union School Board 
Escondido Union High School Board
National City School Board
Oceanside Unified School Board
Poway Unified School Board 
San Diego Unified School Board
District B: Kevin Beiser*
District C: Michael McQuary*
San Ysidro School Board
South Bay Union School Board
Sweetwater Union High School Board

City Offices

Chula Vista
City Council Seat 1: Edgar Guerrero 
City Council Seat 2: Jill Galvez

City Council: Steve Winters

City Council 1:
City Council 2:

Imperial Beach
City Council: 
La Mesa
City Council: 
Lemon Grove
City Council: 
National City
City Council : Mona Rios*
City Council: 
City Council: 

San Diego
City Council 2: Jordan Beane, Bryan Pease, Daniel Smiechowski
City Council 4:
City Council 6:
City Council 8: Antonio MartinezVivian Moreno

City Council: