Skip to:

Democratic Candidates in the March 2020 Primary

Below are the races that will be on the ballot in San Diego County in the Primary Election on March 3, 2020, along with the Democrats who have declared that they're running. A separate page of candidates running in the General Election but not the Primary will be published later this year. If you're a candidate who would like to be added to this list, please fill out this form. For any other questions or requests, please  email

Key:  endorsed,  qualified, * incumbent Democrat, name in blue links to candidate's website. 

State Offices

State Senate
District 39: Toni Atkins

State Assembly
District 71:
District 75: 
District 76: Tasha Boerner Horvath*
District 77: Brian Maienschein*
District 78: Sarah Davis, Chris Ward
District 79: Shirley Weber*
District 80: Lorena Gonzalez*

County Offices

Board of Supervisors
District 1: Rafael Castellanos, Ben Hueso, Nora Vargas, Sophia Rodriguez
District 2: Tom Lemmon, Kenya Taylor
District 3: Olga Diaz, Jeff GriffithTerra Lawson-Remer

Educational Districts 

Community College
Grossmont Cuyamaca Board
  Area 3:
  Area 4: 
San Diego Community College Board 
  District B: Bernie Rhinerson*
  District D: Mary Graham*

K-12 School Boards
San Diego Unified 
  District A: John Lee Evans*, Stephen Groce
  District D: Richard Barrera*
  District E: Sharon Whitehurst-Payne* 


City Offices

Chula Vista 
City Council District 3: Steve Padilla*
City Council District 4: Andrea Cardenas

San Diego
   Barbara BryTodd Gloria, Tasha Williamson
City Attorney:  
   Mara Elliott*
City Council District 1:  
   Aaron Brennan, Joe LaCavaWill Moore
   Harid Puentes, Louis Rodolico
City Council District 3:
   Toni Duran, Adrian Kwiatkowski, Chris Olsen,
   Stephen Whitburn
City Council District 5:
   Hugh Rothman, Isaac Wang, Marni von Wilpert,
   Gary Westerburg
City Council District 7:
   Raul Campillo, Justin DeCesare, 
   David Greco, Sharon Larios, Wendy Wheatcroft
City Council District 9:
   Georgette Gomez*