Skip to:

Democrats Running in the 2020 General Election

The candidate nomintation period for the General Election on November 3, 2020, is open from July 13 to August 7 (extended to August 12 in races where an incumbent does not file). Listed below are Democratic candidates who have publicly announced that they're running for election in San Diego County or who have asked to be added to his page. If you're a candidate requesting to be listed, please complete the form at

Key = endorsed;  = qualified; * = incumbent Democrat, ⁺ = jurisdiction electing by subdistricts for the first time this year. Candidates without a checkmark did not seek or receive an endorsement. Offices with no names listed do not have a known Democrat running.

Federal Offices

Joe Biden

Congressional Representatives
District 49: Mike Levin*
District 50: Ammar Campa Najjar
District 51: Juan Vargas*
District 52: Scott Peters*
District 53: Georgette Gómez

State Offices

State Senate
District 39: Toni Atkins

State Assembly
District 71: Elizabeth Lavertu
District 75: Kate Schwartz
District 76: Tasha Boerner Horvath*
District 77: Brian Maienschein*
District 78: Chris Ward
District 79: Shirley Weber*
District 80: Lorena Gonzalez

Superior Court Judge
Seat 30: Tim Nader

County Offices

Board of Supervisors
District 1: ​ Nora Vargas
District 3:   Terra Lawson-Remer 
Board of Education
District 1:  Gregg Robinson
District 2:  Guadalupe Gonzalez

Educational Districts

Borrego Springs Unified School Board
Curt Yaws*
Cajon Valley Union School Board
Seat 4:  Monica Hinton
Seat 5:  Stacie Hoover
Cardiff School Board Trustee
Rhea Stewart
Carlsbad Unified School Board
Area 2: Frank Deming
Area 3: Rhonda Guaderrama
Chula Vista Elementary School Board
Seat 2: Lucy Ugarte
Seat 4:  Kate Bishop
Coronado Unified School Board
Whitney Antrim
Del Mar Union School Board
Erica Halpern*,  Gee Wah Mok*
Encinitas Union School Board
 Marlon Taylor,  Jodie Williams
Escondido Union High School Board
Area 3:  Michelle Golding
Escondido Union School Board
Area 3:  Joe Muga*
Fallbrook Union Elementary School Board
District 2:  Suzanne Lundin
Fallbrook Union High School Board
District 4:  Oscar Caralampio
District 5:  Eddie Jones
Grossmont Cuyamaca Community College Board
Area 3:  Julie Schorr
Area 4:  Elena Adams
Grossmont Union High School Board
Area 1:  Chris Fite*
Area 2:  Elva Salinas*
Julian Union High School Board
Short Term (one seat):  Randa Lake
La Mesa-Spring Valley School Board
Area 4: Abu-Bakr Al-Jafri
Area 5:  Tyra Fleming
Lemon Grove School Board 
Full-term (two seats):  Yajaira Preciado Cheryl Robertson
Short-term (one seat):  Greg Shibley
Mira Costa Community College Board
Area 3:  Jacqueline Simon*
Area 5:  George Mc Neil* 
Mountain Empire Unified School Board
Seat 6: Story Vogel 
National School Board (two seats) 
 Michelle Gates,  Rocina Lizarraga
Oceanside Unified School Board
Seat 5:  Susana Arvizu
Palomar Community College Board
District 2:  Nina Deerfield
District 3:  Roberto Rodriguez
District 4:  Lee Dulgeroff
Poway Unified School Board
District A:  Darshana Patel*
District E:  Jimmy Karam
San Diego Community College Board
District B:  Bernie Rhinerson*
District D:  Mary Graham*

San Diego Unified School Board
District A: Sabrina Bazzo
District D:  Richard Barrera*
District E:   LaWana RichmondSharon Whitehurst-Payne

San Dieguito Union High School Board
Area 2:  Katrina Young
Area 4:  Jane Lea Smith
San Marcos Unified School Board
District A:  Jay Ross
District B:   Sarah Ahmad
District D:  Jaime Chamberlin
San Ysidro School Board
Antonio Martinez*
Santee School Board
Seat 2:  Dianne El Hajj*
Solana Beach School Board
 Dana King,  Larry Rosen
South Bay Union School Board 
Area 3:  Allan Baluyot
Southwestern Community College Board
Seat 1:  Griselda Delgado*
Seat 3:  Roberto Alcantar* 
Sweetwater Union High school Board
Seat 2:  Adrian Arancibia 
Seat 4:  Nicholas Segura*
Vallecitos School Board
 Terese Kristensen
Vista Unified School Board
Area 1:  Rosemary Smithfield* 
Area 4:  Cipriano Vargas*
Area 5:  Julie Kelly

Municipal Offices

Carlsbad ⁺
City Council District 2:  Lela Panagides
City Council District 4:  Teresa Acosta
Chula Vista
City Council Seat 3:  Steve Padilla*
City Council Seat 4: Andrea Cardenas
Del Mar
City Council (3 seats):  Dave Druker*,   Bob Gans,  Tracy Martinez
El Cajon
City Council District 2: Stephanie Harper
City Council District 4:  Estela De Los Rios
Mayor:  Catherine Blakespear
City Council District 1:  Tony Kranz*
City Council District 2:  Kellie Hinze*
City Council District 2: Vanessa Valenzuela 
City Council District 3:  Don Greene
City Council District 4:  Andres Yañez
Imperial Beach 
City Council District 2: Mark West
City Countil District 4:  Matthew Leyba-Gonzalez
La Mesa
City Council (2 seats): Colin Parent*,  Jack Shu
Lemon Grove
Mayor:  Raquel Vasquez*

City Council:  David Arambula*,  George Gastil 

National City
City Council (two seats):  Marcus Bush, Jose Rodriguez
City Clerk:  Luz Molina
Mayor: ​ Esther Sanchez


City Council District.3: ​ Shari Mackin

City Council District 4:  Jane Marshall

City Clerk:  Zeb Navarro
Treasurer:  Victor Roy* 
San Diego
Mayor:   Todd Gloria

City Attorney:  Mara Elliott*
City Council District 1:  Joe LaCava Will Moore
City Council District 3: Stephen Whitburn
City Council District 5: Marni von Wilpert
City Council District 7: Raul Campillo 

San Marcos
City Council District 3:  Alan Geraci
City Council District 4:  Neil Kramer
City Council District 4:  Samantha Hurst
Solana Beach 
Mayor:  Lesa Heebner
City Council District 1:  David Zito*
City Council District 3:  Jewel Edson*
City Council District 2:  Elizabeth Perez
City Council District 3:  Katie Melendez


Other Districts

Fallbrook Community Planning Board
 Ross Pike Anna Strahan
Helix Water Board
District 1:   Dan McMillan*
District 3 : Mark Gracyk* 
District 5:  Vickie Butcher
Lakeside Community Planning Board
 Tiffany Maple
Leucadia Wastewater 
District 3:  Donald Omsted*
District 5:  Derek Wiback
Mootamai Municipal Water Board
District 1:  Norma Larios*
North County Fire Protection Board 
District 4:  Jeff Egkan 
District 5:  Cindy Acosta
Otay Water Board
District 2:  Mitch Thompson*
District 4:  Jose Lopez
District 5:  Nadia Kean-Ayub
Padre Dam Water Board
Division 2:  Suzanne Till
Palomar Health Board
District 2:  Vicki Grove
District 4:  Laura Barry Walsh
District 6:  Jeff Griffith*
Rainbow Planning Board
Mark DiVecchio*
Santa Fe Irrigation Board
District 2:  Dana Friehauf
South Bay Irrigation Board
District 2:  Jose Cerda*
District 3:  Jose Preciado*
District 5:  Josie Calderon Scott*
Spring Valley Planning Board
 Tiffany Gonzalez
Tri-City Healthcare Board
District 1: Adela Irma Sanchez
District 7:  Nina Chaya
Vallecitos Water Board 
District 5:  Tiffany Boyd-Hodgson
Valley Center Community Planning Board
 Julia Feliciano
Valley Center Fire Protection Board
 Michael O'Connor*
Valley Center Municipal Water Board
District 4:  Enrico Ferro
Vista Irrigation Board
District 2:  Richard Vasquez* 
District 5:: Jo Mackenzie*
Whispering Palms Planning Board
 Douglas Manatt*