Skip to:

Executive Board

At the beginning of each two-year term of the Central Committee, members run for and are elected to leadership positions on the Executive Board. These officers, who meet monthly, have specific areas of responsibility and together oversee the County Party's overall management and planning. 

Jessica Hayes  

Jessica Hayes, Chair (Email)

Jessica has been a lifelong advocate for women, workers, and equal justice. She was previously a member of Dianne Feinstein’s kitchen cabinet, organized studio employees with the Teamsters, and has volunteered for countless campaigns. She previously served two terms as South Area Vice Chair. Jessica graduated from UCSD with a B.A. and California Western School of Law with a J.D. She and her former husband built A-Z Towing and became local employers for over 175 people. She raised two talented and gorgeous daughters of whom she is extremely proud, Chelsea and Brittany.   


Melinda Vásquez, Vice Chair, North Area
Chair Pro Tem 

Melinda is a local graduate of MCHS, Palomar College, and Thomas Jefferson School of Law. She has a built a professional mortgage loan career and is a licensed attorney in California. Her volunteer work began in 2007 with Voices for Children. She has served as the President for the Rancho Peñasquitos Town Council and Rancho Peñasquitos Democratic Club. Her involvement with the San Diego County Democratic Party began in 2010 as a GO Team Community Coordinator and has included work as a Central Committee Member (since 2013), elected member of the Administration Committee, CA Democratic State Party Delegate (since 2011), and 2012 DNC Delegate. 


Taisha Brown, Vice Chair, Central Area 

As an activist committed to the civil rights and labor movement, Taisha Brown has worked extensively within her union, SEIU Local 1000, as a member leader, advocating on behalf of fellow workers and the community at large. She currently works for the State of California. Taisha has a wealth of experience engaging diverse groups of people and fighting for equal rights for all. She is the President of the Martin Luther King Jr. Democratic Club as well as the Vice Chair of the Affirmative Action Committee to the California Democratic Party. In 2012 she was a delegate to the Democratic National Convention for President Obama 

Eric Hereford

J. Eric Hereford, Vice Chair, East Area

J. Eric Hereford has been active with the San Diego County Democratic Party for 25 years, serving on its Executive Board previously as Political Director and now as Vice Chair. He has also served as Vice Chair and Secretary of the California Democratic Party’s African-American Caucus, chaired Assembly District Committees (77th and 79th), and held leadership roles with the La Mesa-Foothills and Martin Luther King Democratic Clubs. Eric has worked for the California State Assembly for more than 20 years and presently serves as a Senior Consultant to the Assembly Speaker’s office. A Vietnam-era veteran, he served as an officer in the U.S. Coast Guard.


Kelvin Barrios, Vice Chair, South Area 


Anthony Montalvo

Anthony Montalvo, Secretary 

Anthony "Tony" Montalvo has been serving on the Central Committee as an alternate member and is a delegate to the California Democratic Party. Living in South County, he is a member of the GO Team as a Regional Coordinator. He has remained active in his local club, the Eastlake-Bonita Democratic Club, and has served as its president.


Sunny Escovedo, Controller


Liz Lavertu, Director of Administration 

John Loughlin

John Loughlin, Director of Clubs

John was elected Director of Clubs by Democratic club leaders throughout the county, a role that also makes him Chair of the SDCDP’s Club Development Committee. He believes in the “wisdom of clubs” – the grassroots of the Party that will drive our future. John helps organize a monthly Council of Clubs meeting, where club officers come together to strategize, organize, and radicalize. He is a GO Team Regional Data Coordinator and Precinct Leader, regular presenter on Social Media, and was named the SDCDP’s Volunteer of the Year in 2016. You can learn more clubs and their activities at

Hugh Rothman Hugh Rothman, Director of Grassroots Organizing

Hugh has been a member of the Grassroots Organizing (GO) Team since 2008 previously serving as a Precinct Leader, the Rancho Bernardo Community Coordinator and Data Coordinator, and the North Inland Regional Community Coordinator and Data Coordinator. He is a UCSD alum with 32 years of industry experience as a software engineer. He is the Vice-President of the Rancho Bernardo Democratic Club and serves as the Treasurer and Government Relations Subcommittee Chairperson on the Rancho Bernardo Community Council.

Francine Busby

Francine Busby, Past Chair,

Francine served as Party Chair from 2013 through 2016, presiding over a major increase in resources, voter registration, and candidate training. She has distinguished herself as a strong advocate for women and girls, public education and equal opportunity for all Americans. Francine is the former Executive Director of Run Women Run, a nonprofit organization dedicated to electing pro-choice women. She has also served as the President of the Cardiff School District and previously ran for Congress. Since 2004, she has been in the forefront of the dynamic growth of the San Diego County Democratic Party as a candidate, mentor, volunteer, North Area Vice Chair, and fundraiser.