Skip to:

Leading the Blue Wave, San Diego Democrats Win Big


San Diego County turned a deeper shade of blue in 2018, setting records for Democratic voter registration, volunteerism, and candidates running. Following is a recap of San Diego County Democratic Party (SDCDP) campaign activities and some notable election results.


  • The SDCDP supported 140 local candidates in the General Election – our largest and most diverse group yet, of whom 65% were non-incumbents and 55% were women.
  • Democratic registration is at an all-time high, with 145,000 more Democrats than Republicans now registered countywide.
  • This year the SDCDP spent more than $3 million to communicate with voters about our candidates.
  • More than 1,000 SDCDP volunteers made nearly 200,000 contact attempts with local voters, including door-knocks, phone calls, and text messages.
  • GO Team volunteers distributed more than 100,000 doorhangers with the official Democratic slate of candidates.
  • SDCDP sent personalized slate mail pieces to more than 300,000 Democratic households.
  • Thanks partly to digital ads promoting our online Voter Guide, traffic on our website in the month leading up to Nov. 6 was three times greater than in the same period in 2016.
  • With turnout just over 66% countywide (vs. 45% in the last midterm election), 69% of the SDCDP’s endorsed local candidates won their races.


  • After Mike Levin’s election in the 49th Congressional District -- adding to the new House majority -- 4 out of 5 members in our Congressional delegation will be Democrats.
  • Nathan Fletcher’s landslide win in County Supervisorial District 4 gives Democrats a seat on the Board.
  • Dr. Jen Campbell’s win in San Diego City Council District 2 will create a Democratic supermajority that can override a mayoral veto.
  • Democrats will hold a new council majority in Escondido with the election of Paul McNamara as Mayor and Consuelo Martinez as City Councilmember.
  • Democrats will hold a new council majority in Carlsbad with the elections of Barbara Hamilton and Priya Bhat Patel as City Councilmembers.
  • Tasha Boerner Horvath won the pickup in the 76th Assembly District, contributing to the Democratic supermajority in that house.
  • With the passage of Measure D, all county-level elections will now require runoffs with larger electorates voting in November.


  • Matt Brower as Superior Court Judge 
  • Alejandra Sotelo Solis as Mayor of National City
  • Dr. Akilah Weber as La Mesa City Councilmember
  • Jody Hubbard as Encinitas City Councilmember
  • Randy Walton as San Marcos City Councilmember (with newly elected Maria Nuñez, an independent)
  • Paloma Aguirre as Imperial Beach City Councilmember
  • Corinna Contreras as Vista City Councilmember
  • Victor Roy as Oceanside Treasurer
  • Charda Fontenot and Rebecca McRae on the La Mesa–Spring Valley Elementary School Board
  • Georgine Tomasi on the Escondido Union School Board
  • Hector Martinez in the South Bay Irrigation District (making it an all-Democratic Board)


  • Ammar Campa-Najjar (CD 50), Marggie Castellano (SD 36), and Sunday Gover (AD 77) all came close to beating their incumbent opponents. 
  • The City Councils in Encinitas and Imperial Beach are now all-Democratic (joining Solana Beach).
  • Democrats won a majority on the Fallbrook Union High School Board.
  • The Fallbrook Union Elementary School Board is now all-Democratic.
  • Kate Schwarz-Frates was the top vote-getter for Fallbrook Health District and will be the only Democrat on the Board. 
  • All eight of the stateweide Democratic candidates won San Diego County.


Final election results for San Diego County can be found at