Skip to:

San Diego County's New Blue Board of Supervisors

January saw the swearing-in of two new Democrats, Nora Vargas and Terra Lawson-Remer, to San Diego County's highest and most powerful governing body, the County Board of Supervisors. 
Joining Democratic Supervisor Nathan Fletcher, the two new Democrats ushered in Democratic control to the five-member Board of Supervisors for the first time in the history of San Diego County -- with Fletcher swiftly selected as Chair of the Board and Vargas as Vice Chair.

The Democratic majority quickly got to work to implement a bold and progressive agenda for San Diego County, including taking actions to increase resources for COVID compliance, declare racism to be a public health crisis, move toward zero carbon emissions within 15 years, initiate new and equitable cannabis policies, modernize policy on needle exchange programs, and step up the county government's commitment to transparency.